Advisory Boards

National Advisory Board

The Ackland’s National Advisory Board (NAB) supports the advancement of the Ackland Art Museum and its mission. NAB members work closely with the Director and staff to enhance all aspects of the Museum’s programming. Members of the NAB are appointed by the Provost, acting in consultation with the Ackland Director on an ongoing basis.

If you are interested in learning more about this opportunity to help the Museum engage with our community, please contact Mary Gard, Director of External Affairs, at or 919-843-3592.


A. Douglas Rothwell, Chair
James Keith Brown, Chair Emeritus
James Marion Parrott V, Vice Chair
D. Smith Freeman, Treasurer

Lelia Elisabeth Blackwell
Elizabeth Broun
J. Kenneth Chance
Shirley Drechsel
Kim Blackwell Fox
Reginald Hodges
Alexander Julian
Meagan Julian
Elizabeth Tyler Kennedy
Ruby Lerner
Carol C. Levin
John Spratt McColl
Margaret Leighton McNairy
Denise Murrell
Katharine Caldwell Nevin
Katharine Lee Reid
Schwanda Rountree
Lauren Sanford
John LeRoy Townsend III
Arete Swartz Warren
John Dargan Watson Jr.


Joseph Jordan, Vice Provost for Academic Initiatives, Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost
Katie Ziglar

Academic Advisory Committee

The Academic Advisory Committee advises the Director on issues pertaining to the Ackland’s mission to support university teaching and research and it advocates for the Ackland within the University. The Committee addresses all issues that affect the use of the Ackland as a teaching and research resource for UNC-Chapel Hill faculty and students.


Anna Agbe-Davies, Anthropology
Hérica Valladares, Committee Chair, Classics
Emily Boehm, Center for Faculty Excellence
Maggie Cao, Art and Art History
Larry Chavis, American Indian Center, Kenan Flagler Business School
Banu Gökarıksel, Geography
Sabine Gruffat, Art and Art History
Martinette Horner, Education
Jerma Jackson, History
Emily Kader, Special Collections, Wilson Library
Richard Langston, Germanic Languages and Literatures
Alexandra Lightfoot, Health Behavior
Josmell Perez, Carolina Latinx Center
Heather Tatreau, Exercise and Sport Science
Nadia Yaqub, Asian Studies
Ji-Yeon Jo, Carolina Asia Center, Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

Student Representatives:

Weixin Zhou, PhD student in Art History


Joseph Jordan, Vice Provost for Academic and Community Engagement, Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost
Carol Magee, Chair, Department of Art

Local Advisory Board

The Ackland’s Local Advisory Board (LAB) was launched in April 2018 in order to deepen and expand the Museum’s network of advocates and supporters in Chapel Hill and the broader area, and to create a forum for interesting and vibrant discussion about the arts, the community, and the Ackland’s role in both.

Nominations to the Ackland’s LAB occur once per year. If you are interested in learning more about this opportunity to help the Museum engage with our community, please contact Andrew Parrish, Assistant Director of Development, at or 919-962-3118.


Linda Anderson
Amir Barzin
Anna Barzin
Kerry Bird
Libby Buck
Cathy Chapman
Kelly Clay
Alain Creissen
Anna Creissen
Campbell Gibson
Becky Herman
Patrick Hobgood
Jeff Hortman
Ryan Huckabee
Fred Joiner
Bain Jones
Katherine Kopp
Ann Lemmon
Mildred Long
Karen Lovelace
Alice May
John May
Maryanna McConnell
Mary Moore
Katie Murray
David Peterson
Jody Pagano
Karen Popp
Carol Richards
Arthur Rogers
Carole Shelby
Neera Skurky
David Starling
Stacy Lynn Waddell
Joni Walser